Posted by: everynation | May 8, 2008

WARNING: Dishonoring Your Parents Maybe Harmful To Your Health!

by Ferdie Cabiling

As we celebrate Mothers’ Day, let’s remember what these people have to say:

“I have lived over sixty years and I have learned one thing if I have lived nothing else. No man or woman who dishonors father or mother ever prospers.”
-Dwight L. Moody.

“How sharper than a serpent’s tooth it is to have a thankless child.”
-Shakespeare (Idem-1.4.)

“But mark this: There will be terrible times in the last days.
People will be… disobedient to their parents, ungrateful…”
-Apostle Paul (2Timothy 3:1-2)

To be able to live out this idea of honoring our parents, we have to find ways to do it! You may say, ”Are you serious? You don’t even know my parents! They may not be worth honoring.” Oh, really? Let me ask you? “Have you been a perfect child?” If you were, then you deserve a perfect set of parents!

Well, Apostle Paul has this commentary on the fifth commandment:

“Children, obey your parents in the Lord, for this is right. “Honor your father and mother”—which is the first commandment with a promise — “that it may go well with you and that you may enjoy long life on the earth.”
-Apostle Paul (Ephesians 6.1-3)

So lets take heed of this notice then.

WARNING:
‘Dishonoring your parents maybe harmful to your health!’

Look. If you want things to go well with you, and live longer… show that love, do it… and do it NOW.

‘Dead noses smell no roses.’

So, if your parents are still alive… then show that love, HONOR.

Ferdie Cabiling is a neophyte runner. He is the author of “and on this rock…” and the Senior Pastor of Victory – Ortigas.


Responses

  1. nice blog! love for parents should Not be Optional,
    it must be as BIG as you’ve loved God.

  2. is it wrong to reveal deep secreats to your father in a way of changing words?

  3. Does anyone have an answer to this?

    I find it incredibly hard to honor my parents when they were horribly abusive to me and my siblings all throughout our childhood…the childhood they stole from us.

    Two of my six siblings passed away at young ages due to the horrific abuse and trauma all throughout our childhood. How does one honor parents who admitted they did not want children, with each child felt more and more cursed not blessed, abused their children and then denied it.

    I believe I am sinning by dishonoring them, but how does one honor parents like I’ve described?


Leave a comment

Categories