Posted by: everynation | May 20, 2010

Still Fighting

by Simon Bardone

I’ve never been much of a fighter. I’ve never actually been in a real fight… like an actual fist fight. For many years I kind of felt ashamed for never having been in a fight. I suppose somewhere along the line I came to the conclusion that real men can kick ass when necessary. And since I’ve never kicked anyone’s ass (or even tried for that matter) (never had my ass kicked either… thankfully), it kind of left me questioning my manhood.

Anyway, over time I think I started subconsciously compensating for my shame and insecurity by taking pride in my passivity (or pacificism as I preferred to think of it as). I began to look down on all the “tough” guys as testosterone-driven brutes who, if they had any sense of decency, should really be more like me. (although deep down I still dreamt of kicking ass someday – if it were ever necessary)

In more recent years, I think I’ve become much more comfortable with the way that I am. I’m not a kick-ass kind of guy. I don’t enjoy watching UFC. And

I actually rather hope that never do find myself in a situation where it just may be necessary for me to kick some ass. I admire good fighters and greatly respect anyone who has the courage to stand up to a bully, even if it means going to blows. Because unfortunately, physical confrontation is sometimes (although rarely) the best way to love someone.

Here’s what I’ve learned though… the reason I struggled as a boy to reconcile my insecurities about not being a fighter is because something deep down inside me was telling me that I should be prepared to fight – not physically, but spiritually.

“For though we walk in the flesh, we are not waging war according to the flesh. For the weapons of our warfare are not of the flesh but have divine power to destroy strongholds.” – 2 Corinthians 10:3-4

All throughout scripture we find stuff like this. Pick up your weapons… Put on your armour… Fight the good fight! God made me/us to fight. We have an enemy. We are in a fight. And we have a mighty King who leads us triumphantly into battle. It’s not a battle for power or domination, but for building others up and tearing the kingdom of darkness down.

Brothers and sisters, Satan and his demons have come to steal, kill and destroy. But their schemes are futile against the power, courage and authority that our God and King, Jesus, has given us do battle as we march together in the wake of His victorious might. FIGHT!!!!

Simon Bardone, a missionary in London, is the lead pastor for Every Nation’s 6PM service in Hammersmith – which is aimed at under-24s. He is married to Shirley and is the author of Simonslife Online.

Leave a Reply

Categories

