Posted by: everynation | May 11, 2010

“I am NOT the Messiah”

by Steve Murrell

Reading Book of John this morning. Here are some notes from my Moleskine:

Leadership lessons for pastors, politicians, business leaders and wanna-be leaders…

– John the Baptist boldly and clearly testified about Jesus. That’s the heart of what preachers are supposed to do – point people to Jesus and tell people who Jesus is.

– John said, “I am NOT the Messiah” (John1:20) Too many pastors, politicians and other leaders seem confused about this. They act and talk like they think they are a messiah, if not THE Messiah.

– John knew who he was and he knew who he was NOT. It is important that leaders know who/what they are NOT. It is common for people to be clear about Jesus and confused about themselves. They know who Jesus is. They know who they are. But they don’t know who they are NOT.

– It was obvious to me a long time ago that I am NOT an evangelist. So I never tried to imitate one. But appreciating the importance of the evangelistic ministry, I connected with evangelists in order to fill up what was lacking in my ministry. If I had tried to be what I am not, it would have been frustrating, and maybe comical.

– In the beginning stages of a church-plant or a business, we sometimes have to do everything, even things we are not especially good at. But at some point, we need to accept who we are NOT, and be secure enough to stay away from those roles.

– Contrary to what some might have said, John knew he was NOT the Messiah. Do you know who you are NOT?

Steve Murrell is a missionary, pastor, and the author of “The Reluctant Leader” and “The Accidental Missionary.”

Responses

  1. this is just great..

  2. galing, i was just praying bout this this morning.. it’s amazing how God works =)

  3. Thank you Pastor for the confirmation of my question for a long time already. I am not a salesman. Haha… Been trying to be one but I am not. I thought I just have to acquire/develop the skill. In discipleship, I am not know-it-all man. That’s it. Thanks again!


Leave a Reply

Categories

