Posted by: everynation | May 5, 2010

Fellowship In Suffering

by Ross Middleton

A scripture that has become a lot more real to me in recent years is Philippians 3:10. We have had our blows in the last few years and we have shared some even harder moments with other people. This verse says, “I want to know Christ and the power of his resurrection and the fellowship of sharing in his sufferings, becoming like Him in His death.”
There is something spiritual that happens when we share in our sufferings together. What is unique about suffering, is that in many cases, there is nothing you can really do for someone. Many times there is nothing you can really say, but something about being there, having that fellowship in a vulnerable moment, crying in front of other people, adds such a depth and richness to relationships.
I’ve never been beaten for the gospel, but I have walked through some dark moments personally and with others, and I can say on the other side that there is a deep bond that is built, there is a fellowship that only you and that other person share. I think that’s why Paul makes the connect here.
I do not think we are built or wired to go through trials by ourselves. I think we are intended to go through hard times with other people.
If you are going through something hard, talk to someone and let them know what’s going on. I’ve never regretted it.
Thanks to everyone who has walked through dark moments with me, you know who you are. I would never do it alone.

Ross Middleton is an Every Nation campus director in Florida State University, Tallahassee and is the author of  Collide Leadership.

Leave a Reply

Categories

