Posted by: everynation | January 20, 2010

Church Planting and Future Grace

by Adam Marby

If you know me at all, you know that I’m an ENTJ to the max. I get things done. In fact, DOING is what I do. There is, however, plenty that terrifies me about planting a new church…

* Preaching the gospel to really, really smart people who don’t know Jesus
* Raising the insane amount of money that it takes to start a new church
* Moving my family to a new city
* Making new friends
* Finding venues
* Training leaders

And the list goes on.

The great news for me, for my team, and for the city of Boston is that I will fail completely, fully, and miserably if I’m looking at me for this thing to work. The KEY TO OUR SUCCESS IS KNOWING THAT WE WILL, INDEED, FAIL.

But, why is this good news?

God opposes the proud, but gives grace to the humble.

It’s good news because if I know that, then I must look beyond me, above me, and outside me. I MUST DRINK DEEPER THAN THE SHALLOW TOPSOIL OF MY OWN GIFTING AND LET THE ROOTS OF MY LEADERSHIP GO DOWN DEEP, DEEPER STILL TO THE FLOWING AQUIFER OF ENDLESS, MERITLESS GRACE.

So, I rejoice that we will win, not because I’m gifted, not because I’ve got enough team, money, or popularity to pull off something awesome.  I rejoice because GOD PROMISES FUTURE GRACE FOR FUTURE TASKS, IMMEASURABLE HELP FOR IMPOSSIBLE DREAMS, AND SUPERNATURAL WISDOM FOR THE NATURALLY STUPID.

Future grace… my hope… Boston’s hope.

Adam Marby is a missionary  and is leading our Every Nation church plant in the heart of Boston, Massachusetts,  the Aletheia Church Boston.

Leave a Reply

Categories

