Posted by: everynation | December 18, 2009

Amazing Grace

by Garry Senna

God is simply very very Good. I had a wonderful experience this morning. I was able to take a Sunday off from work and run the California International Marathon in Sacramento. A marathon is a 26.2 mile run that people who are, how can I say this, not all there mentally, they choose to train for and then attempt to finish along with 10,000 other people. Lining up with all these people at the starting line in 35 degree, foggy, and, did I mention cold conditions. As we started my Ipod playlist was playing Chris Tomlin’s version of Amazing Grace; here is how it starts;

“Amazing Grace, how sweet the sound,
That saved a wretch like me.
I once was lost but now am found,
Was blind, but now I see.
T’was Grace that taught my heart to fear.
And Grace, my fears relieved.
How precious did that Grace appear
The hour I first believed”

I started this race surrounded naturally with 10,000 people, and, yet I seemed enveloped in a canopy of God’s whispering voice to me saying that His Grace has been extended in a new and fresh way over this past season of my life and over the life of the Church. I actually started to cry as I ran the first mile thinking of how Good God has been to me.

This thought carried me to a wonderful first 15 miles and then I realized what I was doing, and how cold I was, and, the balance of the run became – well a marathon. I think the reason I have run three marathons is for the emotions you go through during the run. To quote Dan Fogelberg “Joy at the start, fear in the journey, joy at the coming home” a 26.2 mile run always brings me through a wide spectrum of emotions – in a relatively short amount of time.

The one truth I finished with today (yes I did finish) is that as it is with life, God’s amazing Grace at times allows us to enjoy the circumstances in life, and, at times God’s amazing Grace allows us to endure the circumstances in life.

My hope and prayer for you as you read this is that you would pause, even for a second, and reflect upon the Grace of God in your life and how Good He is to you.

Garry Senna is a husband, father, pastor and police chaplain. He is the senior pastor of Harvest Valley Christian Church.

Leave a Reply

Categories

