Posted by: everynation | December 14, 2009

Calculate the Cost

by Bert Thomson

As I reflect on my upcoming Marathon this weekend in Chicago I can’t help but think about what it took to prepare for this event: The Tuesday morning track workouts at 5AM, the 6 AM Saturday long runs, the stretching exercises, the Nashville Striders training runs and the smaller races (5k and 10k’s) along the way. That’s not all. There was the daily washing of my running outfits and laying them out the night before so they would be ready the next morning. I run with a Garmin GPS watch and heart rate monitor, so after each run I download the running data to my computer and review the data. Oh, yeah and the coffee. Each night I had to grind the coffee, fill up the coffee maker with filtered water and set the timer so I would have a fresh cup to wake up to. There is probably a lot more that I am missing but you get the point.

Marathon running has helped to me to understand that if you want to accomplish anything worthwhile, you must first calculate the cost so that you know you will be able to finish what you started.

As a child, I was notorious for obsessing on some new thing that I wanted to do, or something that I just had to have. I hated to admit it, but my mom was usually right when she told me that as fast as I would be into this new thing, I would drop it.

Jesus spoke these words on this subject: For which one of you, when he wants to build a tower, does not first sit down and calculate the cost to see if he has enough to complete it? “Otherwise, when he has laid a foundation and is not able to finish, all who observe it begin to ridicule him, saying, ‘This man began to build and was not able to finish.’  Luke 14:28-30 NASB

Leave a Reply

Categories

