Posted by: everynation | November 6, 2009

One Small Step

paul barker editedby Paul Barker

 

I used to get Dominos as a present when I was a kid, and I loved them. But I never learned to play the game until a few years ago. I spent all my time setting up intricate and complex patterns – and then watching the chain reaction after I pushed the first one.

So I was intrigued to learn that the World Domino Toppling record had recently been shattered. An international team of 90 people from 13 nations eclipsed the former record of 4,002,146. Their total? 4,079,381! That is a lot of dominos!

I have always been interested in chain reactions, how one small event leads inexorably to a conclusion – often an unexpected and unplanned conclusion. For example…

On July 11, 1976, I heard the Gospel explained in a clear and convincing way – at a meeting that I never planned to attend. I stepped forward in response to that message, completely unsure where that step would take me. Thirty-one years later, I am in awe at the adventure, and the joy, and yes, the difficulties, that step led to. God pushed a domino that night, and my life has never been the same!

Paul Barker is the Director of the Every Nation Leadership Institute-North America and the author of PaulBarker.org.

Leave a Reply

Categories

