Posted by: everynation | September 16, 2009

The First is the Hardest

bert thomsonby Bert Thomson

When it comes to running, the biggest difference between me now and me pre-April 2007 is that I now know I can run a 26.2 mile marathon. What I once considered impossible and out of reach for me is something that I am now confident in. How did that happen?

It happened by deciding to take a chance and give it a try. That meant committing to the process that others have followed before me. It meant stepping out into the unknown with no guarantees.

But, there are many internal barriers we all have to overcome in order to break new barriers in our lives. We must understand that we are creatures of habit that do not like to step out into the new and unknown. We would rather watch a movie about going where no man has gone before than actually doing it ourselves. We like the comfort and predictability of what we know, rather than the fear and uncertainty that comes with stepping out.

But what kind of life is that? Safe yes. But satisfying no. What might we be missing out on just because we will not try? I would never had known I could run a marathon if I had not taken a chance and given it a try.

Bert Thomson, a running enthusiast , is the the Executive Director of Every Nation Ministries and the author of  The Running Man.

Leave a Reply

Categories

