Posted by: everynation | August 12, 2009

The Power of a Praying Doctor

joey.jpgby Joey Bonifacio

Today is my day off.  Early this morning I had a check up that was required by my insurance company.  I also took the time to see another doctor – something that aging people like me have to be conscientious about.  After all I turn 52 in May.

Generally I look for younger doctors who are not typically as ornery as older ones.  I think that’s because they haven’t seen and heard as many complaints from patients.  Today was one of those days where God had planned a divine appointment.

I found this young doctor who was pleasant, very engaging and an expert in his field.  But a most interesting thing happened.  As he looked at my medical record he noticed that I had written pastor as my occupation.  As he read it he exclaimed “You’re a pastor?”

I said, yes.  To which he asked, what is your church?  I said Victory.  At this point he could not contain himself and his face beamed with excitement and said “I know that church in Fort Bonifacio.”  I thought what’s the big deal, what’s with him?  Then he told his story:

“When I was at University I was led by a friend to receive the Lord.  I went to Bible studies and grew in God.  Somewhere along the way I got disconnected.  I lost touch of my Christian friends and became a sinner, big time.”

“In the last 5 years my practice has become very successful, life has been good, but somehow it never felt the same.  I knew I was missing something, it was the Word of God.  I haven’t heard it in a long, long time and I miss it.  I have been praying (crying) to God to get me back on course.”*

I was amazed at the kindness of God to answer this man’s prayer.  After saying all that he did he said, in a few weeks he was moving residence no more than a block away from our church.  I was equally amazed that he was the Lord’s answer to my prayer of finding the right doctor.

God still answers prayers even those of a recalcitrant doctor who has strayed from Him and that of a pastor who needs some medical attention.

Who is a God like you, who pardons sin and forgives the transgression of the remnant of his inheritance?  You do not stay angry forever but delight to show mercy.  You will again have compassion on us; you will tread our sins underfoot and hurl all our iniquities into the depths of the sea.  Micah 7:18-19

Pray – God liestens and he answers!

Joey Bonifacio — aka “The Wizard of Blog” — is the senior pastor of VCF-Fort Bonifacio in Manila, Philippine and the author of Discipleship is Relationship and Joey’s Prayer Site.

Leave a Reply

Categories

