Posted by: everynation | August 1, 2009

Doing or Discipling?

jeff-bullockby Jeff Bullock

I taught my son how to mow the lawn (garden for my european friends) yesterday. During the instruction moment I found myself thinking, “I can do this job myself much quicker and much easier.”

Some thoughts:
Experience
Because of experience I could see better where to cut with each pass. He missed patches of grass, not knowing where to look.

Strength
Some of the grass was quite tall making it difficult for him to push the mower.  It was much easier for me…I was stronger.

Time
It took him much longer to mow than it would have taken me.

Frustration
At times I found myself a little frustrated that he couldn’t do the job with the same level of quality.

Watching and Evaluating
From time to time I went out to see how he was progressing. After he finished I had to go back over with him the areas and patches he had missed.

I realized this moment paralleled discipleship.
Teaching someone to do something takes much more time than to simply do the job myself. It can seem frustrating because of a lack of experience, being spiritually weaker, having to watch and evaluate and in the end help cover the mistakes made during the process. It’s not surprising so few engage themselves in making disciples.

At the end of the day, I was very proud of my son.  He persevered and completed the job.  He was tired, sweating but deeply satisfied at a job well done. Now, however, we both will be more productive…

Jeff Bullock is the author of “The Pub” and is currently planting a church in Budapest, Hungary.

Responses

  1. I like this blog. Something 2 think about. Thx 4 sharing it. Yinka


Leave a Reply

Categories

