Posted by: everynation | July 14, 2009

What happened to holiness?

clayton bellby Clayton Bell

I’m a young(ish), hip, in-the-know Christian, so I’m know I’m supposed to be relevant, emerging, unique and not perfect. But you know what very few voices in Christianity are telling me to be?
HOLY

What happened to holiness? Was it found incompatible with relevance? Too old fashioned? Too much of a focus on everything being permissible, but not enough attention to the fact that not everything is beneficial?

This is not a blog to trumpet legalistic rules and regulations in an attempt to gain God’s approval. This is a call to be who Jesus called us to be so we can do what he’s called us to do.

Our world will not be transformed by a church that seeks to be just like them. We must show that life in Jesus means one of victory over sin, of leaving our old selves behind and becoming a new person in Jesus’ victory, in the grace he gives to us. Even if it is little by little, day by day. This is the only way we can truly be holy.

“Woe to me!” I cried. “I am ruined! For I am a man of unclean lips, and I live among a people of unclean lips, and my eyes have seen the King, the Lord Almighty.” 6 Then one of the seraphs flew to me with a live coal in his hand, which he had taken with tongs from the altar. 7 With it he touched my mouth and said, “See, this has touched your lips; your guilt is taken away and your sin atoned for.” 8 Then I heard the voice of the Lord saying, “Whom shall I send? And who will go for us?”

And I said, “Here am I. SEND ME!”

Clayton Bell is the lead pastor of Trinity New Life Church and the author if Clayton Bell Online.

Responses

  1. great post, I often have asked mysel the same question about holiness.


Leave a Reply

Categories

