Posted by: everynation | March 25, 2009

Can you hear Me now? Understanding the Voice of God through His Word

tim-johnsonby Tim Johnson

God wants to speak to us through His word because He wants us to know the future.  Knowing the future is a lot like knowing about something that is taking place somewhere  you are not.  We don’t know what’s in our future.  The word of God gives us the chance to know about our future.  If you listen to the voice of men, they’ve never been in your future.  If we listen to the voice of satan, he doesn’t know our future.  If you listen to yourself you’ve never been in your future.  But, if we listen to the voice of God, He lives in our future!  The issue with humanity is we would rather trust everything but the word of God.  But the word of God declares in Jeremiah 29:11:

“For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.”

This means our future is not in our own definition but in the word and mind of God.  God wants us to know about our future and we are able to know this through the word of God.

If you desire to hear the voice of God pray this prayer:

Lord Jesus, I ask you to open my ears, open my heart to be able to hear You.  Don’t leave me with every lie that I’ve been told. Don’t leave me wondering how You speak.  I want to hear your voice.  I refuse to follow my own voice.  I refuse to follow the voice of other people that don’t speak Your truth.  I refuse to follow the voice of satan because I want to follow Your voice.  Jesus come into my heart in a real way.  And I pray, starting this very day, You will open my ears in a new way, so that I can not only hear You, but grow in my relationship with You.  I receive this by faith in Jesus name.  Amen.

Tim Johnson is a former football player and the founder of Orlando World Outreach Center.  He lives with his wife, Le’Chelle, and thier family in Windermere, Florida.

Leave a Reply

Categories

