Posted by: everynation | March 1, 2009

Be Strong in the Lord

timothy-lohby Timothy Loh

Dan 10:19  Now as soon as He spoke to me, I received strength and said, “May my lord speak, for you have strengthened me.”
1Ki 19:8  So he arose and ate and drank, and went in the strength of that food forty days and forty nights to Horeb, the mountain of God.

I have been feeding on the word “Strength”… maybe it’s what I am going through as a Pastor, husband, father and somewhat a businessperson. Overseeing the restaurant’s renovation work plus pastoring at different fronts have stretched me more than usual. I felt more than ever that I needed the Grace, but most of all the Strength of God.

There are few categories of Strength that I think one can draw from:

1. Individual Strength – emotional, physical and mental strength that one can muster, which in itself is pretty amazing. Men and women have achieved great heights based on their strength.

2. Team Strength – when a group of likeminded people come together, it produces a force and energy that propels the individual to greater heights!

3. Divine Strength – there’s nothing wrong with the above two, unless we function without this 3rd source. I am a strong believer of His Strength and Grace! It’s something that I can’t fully explain, but when you are in it, you can feel the momentum, clarity and stamina in your spirit. That strength brings us to a greater level of faith, vision and love. It’s like a sudden injection of energy that will cause one to rise up to the challenge.

Daniel encountered that “Strength” in Dan 10:19, it caused him to stand up and speak with courage.
Paul speaks of this “Strength” in 2 Cor 12:9 when he says, “the power of God is perfected in me …”
Mary encountered it in Lk 1:35 “the Power of the Highest shall overshadow you …”

Each day, I look up and ask for “Strength”. I realize that it is not mystical, not theoretical; but tangible. It is felt, practical and it gives us a stronger handle in living out what He has called us to do. Let’s live in His Strength and may the Power of the Most High overshadow us.

Timothy Loh is the senior pastor of Eaglepoint Covenant Fellowship, Kuala Lumpur and is the author of  Pastor Timothy’s Thoughts.

Responses

  1. Just passing by.Btw, you website have great content!

    _________________________________
    Making Money $150 An Hour


Leave a Reply

Categories

