Posted by: everynation | January 29, 2009

Everything and Nothing Changes

dave-harderby Dave Harder

Kari and I are about to enter into one of the biggest weeks of our lives! Guests are coming in from out of town and our local team is busy preparing for what? It is a dream that has been germinating for 13 years, one that began in Calgary and then continued in Vancouver. It has brought us to Ottawa where it is about to be planted in the ground.

My wife and I before we got married said we would be out east one day planting churches that reach the next generation, but who new the journey God would take us on, all for the purpose of strengthening our character so when the time came to fulfill the purpose of God we could boast in our weakness and allow Jesus to be glorified.

Well that time is now and everything is changing, preaching Sunday’s, pastoring a community, setting the vision and direction… but in reality nothing is changing, my hope rests on God and His promises, my affections are towards Christ, and my faith is not in what I can accomplish but in what he has already done.

A good friend asked “do you worry that no one will show up?” and I thought for a moment and said “no”. Our purpose is not to attract a crowd, and impress with a big show, but to trust that Jesus has called us to Ottawa to help people find and follow Jesus, becoming His disciples. My confidence is not in how many we can attract but in God calling people to be His. AND believe me He is the most amazing lover of all drawing many to a relationship with Him that will forever change the direction of their life.

A big week yes… but a week where I know God has prepared me for and I am peaceful in knowing it is all about Him and I am just along for the ride. Thanks God for the amazing “Journey”. (Yes that is the name of the church)

Join us February 1, 6 p.m. at 2 Monk Street as we launch the Journey Church in the Capital.

Dave Harder is the lead pastor of  The Journey, an Every Nation church plant in Ottawa, and  is the author of Living Missional.

Responses

  1. “…but who new the journey God would take us on, all for the purpose of strengthening our character so when the time came to fulfill the purpose of God we could boast in our weakness and allow Jesus to be glorified.”

    Thanks for this wonderful post that has once again reminded me that whatever I do for God has very little to do with me –we are commanded first and foremost to believe in Him & His mighty power that works so mightily in us! When Jesus is glorified in us, men are drawn to Him:-) It is also my faith to plant churches, make disciples and honor His Name! God bless you and your family abundantly as you remain faithful to Him and His call.

    Ria Edrosolan
    Victory, Alabang
    PH

  2. Thanks Ria, it is encouraging to know others are blessed by our journey. I am with you, lets believe together and watch what God does!


Leave a Reply

Categories

