Posted by: everynation | January 14, 2009

Getting Excited About Socks

bert-thomsonby Bert Thomson

Our running coach,  Gary, was given some free samples of specialty socks from a new local company (Swiftwick). He was asked to pass them out to his runners for feedback. When I put them on this morning I got quite excited about trying them out. As I reflected for a moment, I thought to myself, “this is really weird”. Why I am I getting so excited about running socks?

The fact of the matter is that anything associated with my passion for running becomes important to me right down to the socks I wear. It is actually like this for anything we are “into.”

Relating this to spiritual matters, when we are passionate about Jesus, everything associated with Him also becomes a part of our passion. The more I get to know Him, the more I am excited about the things that are associated with Him. Things like missions, reaching the world, touching the lives of the poor and sending missionaries out to proclaim His love to the nations.

If someone is not excited about technical running socks, it is because they are not passionate about running. The key is not to focus on the greatness of socks, but on the greatness of running.

The same is true when Christians are not excited about Christ’s mission. They just need a refresher in how great it is to serve the Seeking Savior. Luke 19:10

Bert Thomson, a running enthusiast , is the the Executive Director of Every Nation Ministries and the author of  The Running Man.

Leave a Reply

Categories

