Posted by: everynation | November 16, 2008

Prayer and Independence

by Joey Bonifacio

On its own independence is  not a bad thing.  Taken to an extreme it can be harmful.  Can’t remember where I got this just because I have read and reread too many books on prayer.  But whenever I don’t feel like praying I remember this quote from someone I don’t remember (probably: Bob Sorge):

The posture of prayer is humility.  Prayerlessness is the first sign of prideful independence.

When you’re tempted to turn this way – turn instead to Psalm 62:

My soul finds rest in God alone; my salvation comes from him.  He alone is my rock and my salvation; he is my fortress, I will never be shaken.  V. 1-2

For best effect read this Psalm aloud like a declaration.  Let your own soul realize that it will not find rest anywhere or with anyone except with GOD ALONE!

Find rest, O my soul, in God alone; my hope comes from him.
He alone is my rock and my salvation; he is my fortress, I will not be shaken.   V. 5-6

Stage 2 of your prayer is a declaration that the day will be full of hope….why?  because God is my hope, my rock and my salvation.

Lowborn men are but a breath, the highborn are but a lie;
if weighed on a balance, they are nothing; together they are only a breath. V.9

Finally this verse is a simple reminder that, while men wish they were not equals the fact of life is we all are.  It is here that we need to realize our dependence on God no matter who we are.  A good indicator of this acknowledgment is the time we spend in  prayer.

Joey Bonifacio — aka “The Wizard of Blog” — is the senior pastor of VCF-Fort Bonifacio in Manila, Philippine and the author of Discipleship is Relationship and Joey’s Prayer Site.

Leave a Reply

Categories

