Posted by: everynation | November 10, 2008

Muffins With Icing

brett-fullerby Brett Fuller

“By swallowing evil words unsaid, no one has ever harmed his stomach.” Winston Churchill

I love to experiment with recipes. One of the easiest recipes to change around is a muffin recipe. Banana muffins can easily be changed to apple muffins. Or, try adding a little grated cheese in some plain muffins for a change….sometimes my experiments are more successful than others. Recently I made cinnamon muffins for breakfast. When I placed them on the table one of my dear, lovely children said, “Mom are these muffins not very good?” I responded, “They are great! I already tried one.” The question back to me was, “Well, then why did you put icing on them?” That’s when I knew that my children had discovered my secret solution to my not-so-successful muffin experiments….sweet icing! You can top almost anything with sweetness and make it easy to swallow!

Proverbs 15:1, “A gentle answer turns away wrath, but a harsh word stirs up anger.” It is amazing to me what gentle words can bring to a conversation. Their sweetness makes for much less messy, relational clean-up later – whether it is in conversations with a friend, my husband, or one of my children…Come to think of it…I never remember throwing out a muffin that has icing on it either!

 

Brett Fuller is the senior pastor of Grace Covenant Church in Chantilly, Virginia. He is also the founder of the Legacy Institute and the president and co-founder of African American Resource Ministry (AARM).

Responses

  1. I love that Pastor Brett is talking about something VERY practical and about Christian character. I think the church needs more simple messages about having character – that is what is going to set the people of God apart from everyone else and show the difference that Jesus makes in a life. Thank you, Pastor Brett for constantly sticking to the basics and making it real.


Leave a Reply

Categories

