Posted by: everynation | February 6, 2008

If

rice.gifby Rice Broocks

As we opened the New Year we embarked on an unusual series in our Sunday services at Bethel World Outreach Center: “IF” It might just set the record for the briefest message title in history.

As 2008 unfolded I kept hearing many bold pronouncements about how great this year would be. Being a positive person I love to hear good news. Yet, the more I thought about it , the more I was reminded of how conditional the promises of God really are. As much as God wants to bless His people and do marvelous things, there is a part we are to play. God will do great things if we will do what He asks us to do.

For instance, John 15:7 says, “If you remain in Me and my Word remains in you, ask what you wish and it will be done for you”. So many want to start the “asking” part withoutfulfilling their part of the “If”, which would mean to spending consistent time in reading and meditation in God’s Word (and obedience to it, of course).

Another great “If” in Scripture is the promise of 2 Chronicles 7:14, “If My people who are called by name will humble themselves and pray, and seek My face and turn from their evil ways, I will hear from heaven, forgive their sin and heal their land.”

There is an opportunity to see America healed, or any other nation, but it starts with the statement, “If My people…will humble themselves and pray”

Rice Broocks is the author of A Minute with Rice and the senior pastor of Bethel World Outreach Center in Brentwood, Tennessee.

Responses

  1. This is the area where God is dealing with me. I have been asking God for many things and even during the 7 days prayer and fasting, but one thing God impressed in my heart, is that more than the blessing I should seek for the source of blessing. I repent and renew my relationship with God. Now, I am pouring myself to God everyday and the more I do that, I know God is opening doors of opportunity and blessing also for me.


Leave a Reply

Categories

