Posted by: everynation | December 23, 2007

Presents or Presence?

jayduque.gifby Jay Duque

Christmas is just around the corner! Let me be the first one to greet you a Merry Christmas and a Prosperous New Year! Here in Orlando, the traffic is building up. The first IKEA store just opened, and people are at a frenzy scrambling for PRESENTS to give to their loved ones and friends.

People are making their lists. Disney tickets are all sold out. Mickey’s carrying gifts.

I was just reminded of my list, the list of things I am asking God for. I realize God has been so good to me. But am I just after His PRESENTS or His PRESENCE? Am I just settling for His PRESENTS and not Him?

Many years ago, I read a passage in the bible. In Matthew 6:33, it says “Seek first His kingdom and righteousness, and all these things will be added to you as well.”

I began to seek, all because I really wanted the “all these things” part of it”.

I knew that if I just sought God, I can get the rest! While that may be partially true, I realize that as I got to know God more, it was really His PRESENCE, I was looking for! Things are great, but nothing compared to the joy that God brings!

I remembered Zig Ziglar, in one of his books say, “You can buy a bed, but you can’t buy sleep, you can buy a nice house, but you can’t buy a home, you can buy the best food, but you can’t buy appetite, you can get married in Paris, but you can’t buy a loving relationship, and so on.

Yes money can buy you things, but only God can give us unspeakable joy that surpasses understanding, satisfying contentment, and unconditional love!

This Christmas, let’s not just settle for His PRESENTS. Let’s go for the best and seek His PRESENCE!

Jay Duque is a husband and father of three, the author of “Life is a Beach,” and is currently preparing to join the pastoral staff of HighPoint Church, Orlando with his family.

Leave a Reply

Categories

