Posted by: everynation | July 3, 2007

A True Story on Forgiveness

by Jay Duque

jayduque.gifWhen I was 7 years old, my dad gave me the rod for something he thought I did. He was angry and I just couldn’t tell him it wasn’t my fault. He found out a couple of hours later that it wasn’t my fault.

I was crying in my room. I was punished for something I did not do. It was really my younger brother’s doing. But all was said and done.

There was a knock on my door. It was my dad. He asked if he could come in. When I saw him, he too was crying. I never saw him cry before. He knelt down and I was surprised. Here was my god, my dad, on his knees.

He said SORRY and was asking for FORGIVENESS.

While he was on his knees, I kinda tapped his head to make sure he was OK. I didn’t know what to do. I was trying to comfort him and at the same time was concerned. I tried to make him stop crying. I said, “Dad, I FORGIVE YOU.” And he hugged me.

That was many, many years ago. Still, that picture is very clear in my mind.

All my life, I realize it wasn’t hard for me nor did I have any problem forgiving others or asking for forgiveness. Because it was modeled to me by my FATHER.

That day, I looked up to him even more. I learned that whenever you admit your mistake, it doesn’t make you less of a person. When one is truly repentant, people can only look to you with respect.

My relationship with my earthly father has paved the way to a great relationship with my Heavenly Father!

Jay Duque is a husband and father of three, the author of “Life is a Beach,” and is currently preparing to join the pastoral staff of HighPoint Church, Orlando with his family.

Responses

  1. Dear Jay
    I am about to write an article on the need for forgiveness for a course I am doing. In New Zealand, there are a lot of cases making the national news where forgiveness is needed, but very difficult to give. I am talking about rape. The current court case being reported quotes the woman as saying she must stay strong. Not to do so would be to allow her assailant to win. She has yet to realise the importance of forgiveness for her own healing. I am hoping to write an article pointing out the need for forgiveness but in the secular press.
    Yours in Christ
    David

  2. Dear Jay
    Further to my first email, you have confirmed what I have always believed – our ability to relate to our Heavenly Father depends on our relationship to our earthly father. Many people with bad or no fathers have to come to the Lord through the Holy Spirit. Then God can heal them and introduce them to their Heavenly Father. My wife has just such a testimony.
    Regards
    David Gash

  3. hey jay…with that story you really made me cry…

  4. That’s happened to me before but my dad hasn’t till this day realised it wasn’t my fault. even if he did i don’t know if he would come say sorry. I really admire your dad cos it takes alot of courage to push your pride aside and come ask forgivness.

    p.s: dad if you read this… you know which situation i’m talking about and i’m still saying that it wasn’t my fault.

  5. Hi Jay,
    Your story on Forgiveness is of great inspiration in my on side of the World where you happened to have spent part of your early years. A lot of men think it’s not macho or dignifying to say sorry even to their wives, talk less of their kids. They need to hear your testimony about your Dad’s humility and the impact it had on you.

    I remember suffering the same miscarriage of justice from my late Dad as a little boy. There was no opportunity to make him realize that I wasn’t responsible for the offence for which I was severely punished; stealing and hidding corn cake! I only resorted to praying secretly that the thief be exposed, and amazingly, it happened. This made me realize as a little boy that God actually answer prayers!

    To end my own story on a humorous note, I will site another true story which is antithetical to yours. A single mum had mistakenly flogged her son for allegedly stealing a missing amount of money. She latter discovered the money wasn’t stolen. Rather than apologize to her son, she proudly told the son; “my action is meant to teach you a great lesson. If you did not steal and I beat you this much, imagine what will happen when you actually steal.”

    The liitle boy is now an international preacher who had not only forgiven his Mum, but greatly appreciates and honors her for giving him a strict up bringing. A case of different strokes for different folks!

  6. Hi Jay,
    You wrote “..That day, I looked up to him even more. I learned that whenever you admit your mistake, it doesn’t make you less of a person. When one is truly repentant, people can only look to you with respect.”

    So true…. it takes humility, courage and a death to self to do that. I pray that I can be that model for my children too. Thanks for sharing such a personal story… Kenneth (Singapore)

  7. Hi Jay
    The story of you dads forgiveness is wonderful! I am a Afrikaans writer and I am writing a book on mothers (parents) and children. It contains tips, Quotes and true stories. May I use your story in my book? It will be in Afrikaans in 200 words or less. I would like it very much. All the books I wrote has a Christian background and message.
    Thank you and God bless you.


Leave a Reply

Categories

